Order of the Golden Ark

Order of the Golden Ark

The Most Excellent Order of the Golden Ark (Dutch: Orde van de Gouden Ark) is a Dutch order of merit established in 1971 by Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands. It is awarded to people for major contributions to nature conservation. Although not awarded by the government of the Netherlands, it is considered by the government as a recognized chivalrous order. Since its inception, over 300 people have been recognised by the award. Now that Prince Bernhard has died, the future of the order is uncertain.

Notable recipients

  • Ranjit Bhargava
  • Carl Gustav of Sweden
  • Gerald Durrell
  • Sylvia Earle
  • Valerie Taylor [1][2]
  • Tony Fitzjohn
  • Zafar Futehally
  • Jane Goodall
  • Gyanendra of Nepal
  • Roger Tory Peterson
  • Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh (Awarded 1971)
  • Ian Player
  • Suman Sahai
  • Ravindra Kumar Sinha
  • Marc van Roosmalen
  • Lyall Watson
  • Delia Owens

See also

  • List of environmental awards


Order of the Golden Ark

La Redoute