Where the Crawdads Sing (film)

Where the Crawdads Sing (film)

Where the Crawdads Sing is an upcoming American drama film based on the best-selling novel of the same name by Delia Owens. The film is written by Lucy Alibar and directed by Olivia Newman, and stars Taylor John Smith, Harris Dickinson, Daisy Edgar-Jones, David Strathairn, and Jayson Warner Smith.


  • Daisy Edgar-Jones as Catherine "Kya" Clarke
    • Jojo Regina as Little Kya
  • Taylor John Smith as Tate Walker
  • Harris Dickinson as Chase Andrews
  • David Strathairn
  • Jayson Warner Smith as Deputy Joe Purdue
  • Garret Dillahunt
  • Michael Hyatt
  • Ahna O'Reilly
  • Sterling Macer Jr.
  • Eric Ladin as Eric Chastain


On January 25, 2021, it was announced that Taylor John Smith and Harris Dickinson would be joining Daisy Edgar-Jones in a film adaptation produced by Hello Sunshine and 3000 Pictures for Sony Pictures, based on Delia Owens' best-selling novel Where the Crawdads Sing. The film will be directed by Olivia Newman from a screenplay written by Lucy Alibar. On March 17, 2021, David Strathairn joined the cast of the film. On March 30, 2021, Jayson Warner Smith joined the cast of the film. In April 2021, Garret Dillahunt, Michael Hyatt, Ahna O'Reilly, Sterling Macer Jr., and Jojo Regina joined the cast. In June 2021, Eric Ladin joined the cast of the film.

The film began principal photography on March 30, 2021 and expect to conclude on June 28, 2021 in Houma, Louisiana.


It is scheduled to be released on June 24, 2022.


External links

  • Where the Crawdads Sing at IMDb

Where the Crawdads Sing (film)